The Labour MPs in The Independent Group.

Seven Labour MPs have resigned from the party to found The Independent Group.  The full list is as follows:

Luciana Berger
Ann Coffey
Mike Gapes
Chris Leslie
Gavin Shuker
Angela Smith
Chuka Umunna

The have made it clear that they do nt believe the Labour Party in its current form should govern.

The have published the following: Statement of Independence

“We are leaving the Labour Party to sit as the Independent Group of Members of Parliament.

Our primary duty as Members of Parliament is to put the best interests of our constituents and our country first. Yet like so many others, we believe that none of today’s political parties are fit to provide the leadership and direction needed by our country.

Our aim is to pursue policies that are evidence-based, not led by ideology, taking a long-term perspective to the challenges of the 21st century in the national interest, rather than locked in the old politics of the 20th century in the party’s interests.

As an Independent Group we aim to recognise the value of healthy debate, show tolerance towards different opinions and seek to reach across outdated divides and build consensus to tackle Britain’s problems.”