The Results and the Headlines

It was the most unpredictable night in political history.

No-one foresaw that David Cameron would win an outright majority.  The Labour party had more votes but fewer seats than 2010. The Liberal Democrats have been all but wiped out.

Big beasts of Westminster who won’t be returning include Vince Cable, Jim Murphy, Douglas Alexander, Danny Alexander, Lynne Featherstone,  Simon Hughes,  employment minister Esther McVey and of course Ed Balls.

Nigel Farage failed in South Thanet and has still never been an MP.

The SNP are the third party with 55 seats.

The polls said too close to call but in the end the Tories had a clear win.